Celebrating the 80th Anniversary of the D-Day Landings: A Day of Remembrance and Unity 

Last modified date

On June 6th, 2024, our community united to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the D-Day Landings, a pivotal moment in World War II history. The day’s events struck a balance between solemn reflection and collective pride, as we honoured this significant milestone with dignity and respect. 

Reverend Garry Dawson-Jones led a touching church service at St. Mary Magdalene Church, providing a space for personal contemplation and community. Following the service, attendees enjoyed refreshments courtesy of the church before gathering outside. 

Freeman, Roy Reeves lighting the Beacon alongside the Chairman of Warboys Parish Council.

Sheila Withams, the Chair of Warboys Parish Council, hosted the Beacon Lighting ceremony, where around 100 individuals gathered for this significant event. The Warboys Voices Choir performed a touching version of “We’ll Meet Again,” encouraging the audience to participate and fostering a heartfelt moment of contemplation. 

At 9.15pm, Roy Reeves, Honorary Freeman of Warboys, lit the beacon in synchrony with others across the nation, symbolising unity and remembrance. He was accompanied by the Flag Barrier, Matthew White and trumpeter, Dave Swann from the Wyton Voluntary Band delivering a moving performance of the Last Post. The Chair followed by providing a poignant reading of the International Tribute. The event concluded with a collective rendition of the National Anthem, “God Save the King.”  

The evening served as a fitting tribute to the heroes of the D-Day landings, allowing us to honour their legacy and reflect on the lasting impact of their bravery. The 80th anniversary reminded us not only to remember but also to reaffirm our commitment to the values they defended. 

We thank everyone who participated and helped make this day of remembrance so special. 

Contact Information 

Email – clerk@warboysparishcouncil.co.uk 

Facebook – @WarboysParishCouncil 

Telephone – 07985 771834 / 07985 771676 

Parish Clerk